The Autumn Defense: Once Around (Yep Roc) 

Like every side project, The Autumn Defense is saddled with the fundamental questions of why it exists and what it has to offer apart from its members' well-known day jobs.

Wilco's John Stirratt (who's been with the band since its inception) and Pat Sansone (who joined in 2004) get to stretch out as multi-instrumentalists in The Autumn Defense, but the band seems to function mostly as a vehicle for expression as songwriters.

Once Around is a laid-back, pretty record, one that hints at the broad satisfaction found in life's easy pleasures. And one of those pleasures, it's clear for Stirratt and Sansone, is being in love with the simple joy of playing music—all sorts of music.

The album's centerpiece and title track, "Once Around," is a sort of exploration of the different sounds to which The Autumn Defense is drawn. It's quiet and loud, acoustic and electric, full and spare, all in a meandering 6 1/2 minutes.

Elsewhere is plenty of variety: the jaunty piano of "Back of My Mind," the jangly alt-country of "Tell Me What You Want," the peppy Kinks-esque "The Swallows of London Town," and "Step Easy," which might be the quintessential Autumn Defense song—relaxed and sunny California pop.

The question of how readily The Autumn Defense would find listeners without the Wilco connection might always remain, but Once Around is notable for more than just those Wilco roots. It's a pleasant and moving record, one that doesn't need flash to settle under your skin.

Back Of My Mind - The Autumn Defense by zenitram888

More by Eric Swedlund

  • A Record of Many Colors

    Carlos Arzate branches out in different sonic directions on the adventurous Camaleón
    • Apr 5, 2018
  • History & Hope

    Lucy Dacus’ brilliant sophomore album takes on life’s biggest challenges
    • Mar 15, 2018
  • Man Behind the Designs

    As the go-to artist for Tucson’s hip hop scene, Marcoso has it covered
    • Feb 22, 2018
  • More »


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

The Range

Catalina Brewing Beers Good News for Striking Teachers

Record Store Day Becomes Record Store Week at Zia

The Weekly List: 17 Things To Do In Tucson This Week

More »

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Turn On, Tune In…

    Downtown Radio’s Psych-Out Festival promise to be a trip, man.
    • Apr 19, 2018
  • Addictive Sound

    War on Drugs performs in the Old Pueblo for the first time in seven years
    • Apr 12, 2018
  • More »

Facebook Activity

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation