Shaun Harris x Bell Biv Cousteau: Shock G Calls Me Chris (Self-Released) 

Shaun Harris doesn't really have an agenda. He's not out to be the best rapper ever just to make a great album. Shock G Calls Me Chris isn't exactly art for art's sake; it's Harris' musings on whatever for art's sake. These seven songs play as a series of tweets that are part hilarious, part poignant and all relatable.

Harris' opening lines on Shock G Calls Me Chris are "Fuck Arizona ... why is Shaun Harris acting like a fuckin' prick?" But the song isn't particularly angry, maybe just slightly agitated. And that goes double for Harris in general. It seems like it would be hard to piss this guy off, and that is a quality that automatically makes him "harder," but I don't think that's what he's going for either. His voice combines the sound of the Notorious B.I.G.'s authoritative head cold and Ol' Dirty Bastard's insane asylum freakout, without the threat of either. He rarely follows rap conventions of diction or flow, and again that's to his credit.

On songs like "Bio" and "Eva Make," his laid-back storytelling is infused with enough clever humor to keep the listener engaged, but Shock G Calls Me Chris is far from all jokes. The lyrics are insightful.

The production, mostly by Bell Biv Cousteau, is equally traditional and innovative. The sparse beats and sly twists are fantastic, with the pinnacle being the EP closer "Bigger Than." And, as Harris muses on that song, "the universe is full of possibilities," much like Shock G Calls Me Chris itself.

More by Joshua Levine


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Don't Forget the Coop

    Interview with Alice Cooper
    • Jun 15, 2017
  • Battle Acts: Sgt. Pepper Then vs. Sgt. Pepper Now

    We have no Summer of Love to ponder, no Vietnam War to protest, no miracle drug that's going to save us. But we do have an unpopular president and Sgt. Pepper to marvel over all over again. It's not the same, but it kinda is, and that's about the best splendid time that can be guaranteed for all in 2017.
    • Jun 8, 2017
  • More »

People who saved…

Facebook Activity

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation