Rhythm & Views 

Greyhound Soul

From the opening track on Greyhound Soul's latest album, its fifth in 13 years, it becomes clear that the veteran Tucson band is in an introspective place. As a result, listeners who value heartfelt lyrics and sweet, melancholic country-rock will be richly rewarded.

"Time to Come Home" is a seven-minute meditation on the primary, mantra-like lyric, "Yeah, it's time to come home now," with eerie industrial noises and chamber-pop strings framing the minimalist folk-blues stroll.

The band continues to challenge the three-minute pop-song format with the extended songs "Believe" (6:45) and "I'll Wait Around" (8:26), both of which are patiently paced, poetic ruminations on the nature of pain and survival, infused with dark melodic textures that recall the quieter music of Neil Young and Wilco.

Unsurprisingly, among the most prevalent themes on Tonight and Every Night--which boasts a stellar lineup of current and former Greyhound Soul members--are those of troubled love and the fact that interpersonal relationships are, well, complicated.

To communicate this message, singer-songwriter Joe Peña over the years has managed to craft a uniquely expressive instrument from a gruff, bluesy vocal style.

This is especially evident on the world-weary "Do What You Do," in which Peña's protagonist struggles with a willful loved one who "stay(s) up all night making promises"--and even more so in "Layin' Down Lost," during which he sings, "I know love hurts like hell ... again."

More by Gene Armstrong

  • Primer

    Tony Furtado
    • May 29, 2014
  • Wills Meets Reinhardt

    L.A.'s Cow Bop blends bebop and Western swing into a superbly danceable combo
    • May 22, 2014
  • Learning From Lennon

    Nothing personal, Paul McCartney. Bill Frisell started playing John Lennon's music by accident
    • May 15, 2014
  • More »


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

The Range

Boris Blows Your Mind (and the Rest of Your Body) Away

Laughing Stock: Odd as Ever; Ever Laughable

The Weekly List: 24 Things To Do In Tucson This Week

More »

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Vintage Vinyl

    Frozen Sun “Got to Get Away”/ “Jamm Part 1” Capt. Zoomar Records, FC6902, 1969
    • Oct 12, 2017
  • Know Your Product!

    Stars Pick Their Top 5! This week: Trackstar the DJ
    • Oct 5, 2017
  • More »

Facebook Activity

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation