Rhythm & Views 

The Rogers Sisters

If you're looking for love, The Invisible Deck would be the wrong place. Tricky, illusory and occasionally entirely opaque, this sophomore collection by sisters and Brooklyn bar owners Jennifer and Laura Rogers, with co-conspirator Miyuki Furtado, is a large helping of garage-drama verite. Its noisy noir punk and grrrl power rock is littered with metal and driven for dancing. Live, you may not know what's hit you, but on a record, it's clear: They're singing your life, and it ain't particularly pretty.

For Deck, the band cranked up the tech to layer the songs for listening. Guitar parts rule; in the six-minute "Your Littlest World," a tirade against small-mindedness, Furtado's distortion is reduced to an electronic buzz, like some sinister insect hectoring the camel walking through Laura Rogers' drums. Heavy metal guitar riffs alternate with simple, girl-punk vocals in "You Undecided," a punk/funk rant on heedlessness and its consequences. The bass and drums take over, though, on "Never Learn to Cry," where agitated percussion and a punishing bass line find memories "laced to the painted lines passing on the ground."

The Sisters' original vision was to be a New York-area party band, but their potent mélange drew critical raves, leading to a deal with the respected indie-label home of Stereolab and Electrelane. Come see what the fuss is about.

More by Linda Ray


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Vintage Vinyl

    Quinstrels "I've Got a Girl"/"Tell Her" Moxie Records M.R.C.—1965
    • Jul 13, 2017
  • Vintage Vinyl

    The Frozen Sun “Electric Soul”/”Electric Soul” (long version) Captain Zoomar Records, 1969
    • Jun 29, 2017
  • More »

Facebook Activity

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation