Rhythm & Views 

Kid Rock

NO MATTER HOW annoying Detroit's most famous piece of white trash gets, a number of his platinum-selling Devil Without A Cause tunes, primarily the slinky/hooky "Cowboy" and that "Bawitdaba" nursery rhyme jingle, sound great on the radio. Here, two new numbers keep the Kid's mojo working, chief among them the boasting, icon-name-checking, Metallica-drenched "American Bad Ass." The rest of the album's a limp, often homophobic assemblage of tracks from his pre-breakthrough '93 and '96 albums The Polyfuze Method and Early Mornin' Stoned Pimp. One particularly addled piece of conceptual rock-rap fusion: "Born To Be A Hick," which cobbles together assorted Chuck Berry and Beach Boys riffs then lays a bizarre Jeff Foxworthy rant on top. You might be a redneck if--you buy this album! The pro-pot, anti-authority "F**k That" shows some promise; too bad Rock's too much of a pussy to print the word "fuck." Selling CDs at Wal-Mart's tough on rebellion, eh? Oh well, in the booklet you do get, alongside photos of Rock fondling busty porn chicks and hangin' with celebs like ZZ Top and Limp Bizkit, a vintage pic of the very Caucasian Kid when he was sporting a gravity-defying, nine-inch high-top fade. Roll over Fresh Prince, and tell Ralph Ellison the news.

More by Fred Mills

  • Rhythm & Views

    Rich Hopkins & Billy Sedlmayr
    • Jan 11, 2001
  • Ten Speed

    Four Critics Embark On A Quest For The Best Of 2000
    • Dec 21, 2000
  • Rhythm & Views

    The Rock*A*Teens
    • Nov 16, 2000
  • More »


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

The Range

Quick Bites: 1912 Turns Two

Quick Bites: Wasting Away Again

More »

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Don't Forget the Coop

    Interview with Alice Cooper
    • Jun 15, 2017
  • Battle Acts: Sgt. Pepper Then vs. Sgt. Pepper Now

    We have no Summer of Love to ponder, no Vietnam War to protest, no miracle drug that's going to save us. But we do have an unpopular president and Sgt. Pepper to marvel over all over again. It's not the same, but it kinda is, and that's about the best splendid time that can be guaranteed for all in 2017.
    • Jun 8, 2017
  • More »

Facebook Activity

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation