Project Censored's Judges

The panel of judges for this year's Project Censored included:

· Robin Andersen, associate professor and chair, Department of Communication and Media Studies, Fordham University

· Richard Barnet, author of 15 books and numerous articles for The New York Times Magazine, The Nation and The Progressive

· Liane Clorfene-Casten, co-founder and president of Chicago Media Watch, a volunteer watchdog group that monitors the media for bias, distortions and omissions

· Lenore Foerstel, Women for Mutual Security, facilitator of the Progressive International Media Exchange (PRIME)

· George Gerbner, dean emeritus, Annenberg School of Communications, University of Pennsylvania

· Robert Hackett, professor, School of Communications, Simon Fraser University; director of News Watch Canada

· Carl Jensen, founder and former director of Project Censored; author of Censored: The News That Didn't Make the News and Why (1990-1996) and 20 Years of Censored News (1997)

· Sut Jhally, professor of communications and executive director of the Media Education Foundation, University of Massachusetts

· Nicholas Johnson, professor, College of Law, University of Iowa; former FCC Commissioner (1966-1973); author of How to Talk Back to Your Television Set

· Rhoda H. Karpatkin, president of Consumers Union, nonprofit publisher of Consumer Reports

· Charles L. Klotzer, editor and publisher emeritus, St. Louis Journalism Review

· Nancy Kranich, past president of the American Library Association

· Judith Krug, director of the Office for Intellectual Freedom, American Library Association

· Martin Lee, investigative journalist, media critic and author

· William Lutz, professor of English, Rutgers University; former editor of The Quarterly Review of Doublespeak

· Julianne Malveaux, economist and columnist, King Features and Pacifica radio talk show host

· Robert W. McChesney, research associate professor, Institute of Communications Research and the Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

· Cynthia McKinney, the first African-American woman from Georgia to serve in the United States House of Representatives from 1992-2002

· Mark Crispin Miller, professor of media ecology, New York University; director of the Project on Media Ownership

· Jack L. Nelson, professor, Graduate School of Education, Rutgers University

· Michael Parenti, political analyst, lecturer and author of several books on media

· Dan Perkins, political cartoonist, pen name Tom Tomorrow; creator of "This Modern World"

· Barbara Seaman, lecturer; author of The Greatest Experiment Ever Performed on Women: Exploding the Estrogen Myth (Hyperion 2003) and other books; co-founder of the National Women's Health Network

· Erna Smith, professor of journalism, San Francisco State University

· Norman Solomon, syndicated columnist on media and politics; co-author of Target Iraq: What the News Media Didn't Tell You (Context Books, 2003); executive director of the Institute for Public Accuracy

· Sheila Rabb Weidenfeld, president of D.C. Productions, Ltd.; former press secretary to Betty Ford

Comments (0)

Add a comment

Add a Comment

Tucson Weekly

Best of Tucson Weekly

Tucson Weekly