Modest Mouse: No One's First, and You're Next (EP) (Sony/Epic) 

This enjoyable collection of odds and ends by Modest Mouse—an EP of eight tracks at 33 minutes—collects holdovers from the group's previous two LPs and serves as a fitting snapshot of a fecund career.

Opener "Satellite Skin," sporting the group's current lineup with Johnny Marr on guitar, displays wide hooks, plentiful quirks and Isaac Brock's retrospective defiance. ("Well, no we're not praying, we're kneeling.") "Guilty Cocker Spaniels" finds the Good News-era lineup charging through a peppery, vocally frantic song of building aggression.

"Autumn Beds" is one of Modest Mouse's finest pop moments. It's a hauntingly gorgeous tune that builds a menacing subtext of gallows imagery around a lilting chorus ("We won't be sleeping in our autumn beds"), gauzy atmospherics, gently plucked banjo and a guitar funneled through enough distortion to sound like an electric kazoo. "History Sticks to Your Feet" bounces across swirling guitar loops with increased intensity and punchy optimism. ("Don't you look at me like life don't hold you any more mystery.")

The EP occasionally falters. "The Whale Song" feels like a forced return to the epic guitar workouts of the group's earlier career. Its chirpy, looping arpeggios sound aimless, while its slight lyrics seem inconsequential; granted, its thrilling, thunderous conclusion works. Meanwhile, "Perpetual Motion Machine" is a loose, brass-laden tune whose improvisational approach doesn't work.

Still, it all makes for a charming EP of damaged pop, electrified folk and scrappy rock—or, another batch of Modest Mouse tunes.

More by Michael Petitti


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

The Range

Quick Bites: 1912 Turns Two

Quick Bites: Wasting Away Again

More »

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Don't Forget the Coop

    Interview with Alice Cooper
    • Jun 15, 2017
  • Battle Acts: Sgt. Pepper Then vs. Sgt. Pepper Now

    We have no Summer of Love to ponder, no Vietnam War to protest, no miracle drug that's going to save us. But we do have an unpopular president and Sgt. Pepper to marvel over all over again. It's not the same, but it kinda is, and that's about the best splendid time that can be guaranteed for all in 2017.
    • Jun 8, 2017
  • More »

Facebook Activity

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation