John Maus: A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material (Ribbon) 

click to enlarge cd3.jpg

While compilations of B-sides are not usually the ideal starting place to explore a new artist, if you haven't yet discovered John Maus' brand of artsy goth-pop, you should do yourself a favor, and pick this up.

Maus, like Stephin Merritt, maintains an unmistakable sound while working in a wide range of styles. A Collection runs from jagged 1970s British post-punk to psychedelic 1960s prog-folk to New Romantic ballads to Eno-esque ambient soundscapes. That eclecticism isn't just a function of being a collection, since all of Maus' albums are this diverse. But these songs, while disparate, work together in how they channel a certain kind of fuzzed-out malaise.

What's most striking about A Collection (and Maus as an artist in general) is how comfortable he is switching back and forth between pop and experimentalist modes. A song like "My Hatred Is Magnificent" is a perfect slice of synth-pop, while "Angel of the Night" reads like a deconstruction of everything that made "My Hatred Is Magnificent" work: While one song follows melody through to inevitable pop hooks, with a dash of weird symphonic background noise for good measure, the other starts off promising a song structure that never coalesces; it dwindles and circles noisily around the idea of a song, but never delivers.

Maus is thrilling in these and all of his other modes. A Collection contains enough dark atmosphere to make it a perfect Halloween record.

More by Sean Bottai


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Don't Forget the Coop

    Interview with Alice Cooper
    • Jun 15, 2017
  • Battle Acts: Sgt. Pepper Then vs. Sgt. Pepper Now

    We have no Summer of Love to ponder, no Vietnam War to protest, no miracle drug that's going to save us. But we do have an unpopular president and Sgt. Pepper to marvel over all over again. It's not the same, but it kinda is, and that's about the best splendid time that can be guaranteed for all in 2017.
    • Jun 8, 2017
  • More »

Facebook Activity

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation