Collin Shook Trio: Derivatives (Self-released) 

Derivatives, the debut album from the Collin Shook Trio, is 53 minutes of technically skilled and vividly expressive jazz.

Pianist Shook, bassist Dylan DeRobertis and drummer Matt Pirc have crafted a record that honestly acknowledges its host of influences while breathing new life into jazz with an ever-shifting batch of original compositions.

Recorded live in a single day in April at Mattlind Recording Studio, Derivatives has the uninhibited air of in-the-moment performance, showcasing the players' skills in hard-driving bop, ballads and Latin-tinged songs.

The album opens with "Mantra," a 6/8 waltz that builds from mellow chords to cascading piano notes from Shook. "Poca Cosa (The Little One)," written as a tribute to the downtown restaurant, begins with a rhythmic drum burst from Pirc and moves with a Latin swing.

The album's centerpiece, "Occupy Suite," is presented as a prelude and two movements, stretching nine minutes, during which it's easy not only to envision the massive Wall Street protests, but also to feel the anger, uncertainty and energetic yearning that drove the cause. The "Prelude" starts with some ominous chords, while "Movement 1" rushes in like a storm, edgy even at its quietest moments. "Movement 2" balances on the edge of chaos.

Well-educated in the breadth and possibility of jazz, the Collin Shook Trio bring versatility and originality to the local scene.

More by Eric Swedlund

  • Light the Match

    Sedona’s own decker. kicks out a fiery new album
    • Jul 6, 2017
  • Liberate, Create!

    A trio of skilled songsmiths generate a new folk-rock
    • Apr 13, 2017
  • Preaching the Bad Testament

    Scott H. Biram—the original Dirty Old One Man Band—is back in the pulpit
    • Apr 6, 2017
  • More »


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Vintage Vinyl

    Quinstrels "I've Got a Girl"/"Tell Her" Moxie Records M.R.C.—1965
    • Jul 13, 2017
  • Vintage Vinyl

    The Frozen Sun “Electric Soul”/”Electric Soul” (long version) Captain Zoomar Records, 1969
    • Jun 29, 2017
  • More »

Facebook Activity

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation