The Lightest Object in the Universe

This week, Algonquin Press launched her first novel, The Lightest Object in the Universe. This is an email conversation with the Tucson Weekly.

It’s the End of the World As We Know It

An excerpt from Tucson author Kimi Eisle’s new post-apocalyptic novel The Lightest Object in the Universe

Inquiry at the Bar

Tucson author Becky Masterman’s new crime thriller, We Were Killers Once, is the fourth book to feature Brigid Quinn, a former FBI agent who has retired to Tucson.

The Chasers

They had their spot in the stairwell. They were Chicano kids—Mexican Americans—growing up in Tucson in the 1950s. They were the Chasers.

Storied Past: A Well-Read Woman: The Life, Loves and Legacy of Ruth Rappaport

A Well-Read Woman: The Life, Loves and Legacy of Ruth Rappaport archives the harrowing, and at times brazen, tale of a librarian who championed access to information and balked at sexism in the workplace years before the Western feminist movement came to be.

On the Edge of Deportation

An excerpt from The Death and Life of Aida Hernandez

Bordering on Brutality: The Death and Life of Aida Hernandez

Aaron Bobrow-Strain's new book about the border, The Death and Life of Aida Hernandez, combines the life story of a young undocumented woman, told in extraordinary detail, with a history of the U.S. border enforcement regime.

A Remembrance of Painful Things Past

Artist Chris Rush’s memoir tells a tale of an astonishing childhood

Know Your Product: Brian Jabas Smith

Brian Jabas Smith pioneered the Know Your Product column in the Weekly during his time here editing the Music section. In a literary twist, we asked him to write about five of the many books that altered the course of his life.

40 Essential Arizona Books

This list is not meant to be the definitive list of essential Arizona reading; it's merely a stroll through the vast literary landscape of books about Arizona.

Archives


The Range

HSSA has over 150 cats waiting for their forever families

MOCA Monster Drawing Rally Benefit

Keeping Pets Cool When the Weather Gets Hot

More »

Staff Pick Events

  • Tour the UA Tree-Ring Research Lab @ The UA Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research

    • 1 going/interested
  • Art Walk Sundays @ Madaras Gallery

    • Sundays, 1-4 p.m. Free
    • 1 going/interested
  • Laughing Liberally Comedy Showcase (Performing Arts)

    • Fourth Sunday of every month, 8-9:30 p.m. Free

Popular Events

  • Call to Artists: Happiness Is... @ WomanKraft Art Center

    • Sat., Aug. 24, 1-5 p.m. Free
  • Space Trek! The gaslight Theatre's Summer Melodrama Show @ The Gaslight Theatre

    • Sun., July 21, 3-5 & 6-8 p.m., Tue., July 23, 7-9 p.m., Wed., July 24, 7-9 p.m., Thu., July 25, 7-9 p.m., Fri., July 26, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m., Sat., July 27, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m., Sun., July 28, 3-5 & 6-8 p.m., Tue., July 30, 7-9 p.m., Wed., July 31, 7-9 p.m., Thu., Aug. 1, 7-9 p.m., Fri., Aug. 2, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 3, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 4, 3-5 & 6-8 p.m., Tue., Aug. 6, 7-9 p.m., Wed., Aug. 7, 7-9 p.m., Thu., Aug. 8, 7-9 p.m., Fri., Aug. 9, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 10, 6-8 p.m., Sun., Aug. 11, 3-5 & 6-8 p.m., Tue., Aug. 13, 7-9 p.m., Wed., Aug. 14, 7-9 p.m., Thu., Aug. 15, 7-9 p.m., Fri., Aug. 16, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 17, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 18, 3-5 & 6-8 p.m., Tue., Aug. 20, 7-9 p.m., Wed., Aug. 21, 7-9 p.m., Thu., Aug. 22, 7-9 p.m., Fri., Aug. 23, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 24, 6-8 & 8:30-10:30 p.m. and Sun., Aug. 25, 12:30-2:30 p.m. $22.95
    • Buy Tickets
  • 009 Licence to Thrill! Gaslight Theatre's Fall Melodrama @ The Gaslight Theatre

    • Tuesdays-Thursdays, 7-9 p.m., Fridays, Saturdays, 8:30-10:30 p.m., Fridays-Sundays, 6-8 p.m., Sundays, 3-5 p.m., Sat., Oct. 5, 3-5 p.m., Sat., Oct. 12, 3-5 p.m., Sat., Oct. 19, 3-5 p.m., Sat., Oct. 26, 3-5 p.m., Sun., Oct. 27, 12-2 p.m., Thu., Oct. 31, 5-7 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 10, 12:30-2:30 p.m. Continues through Nov. 3 $23.95
    • Buy Tickets

Recent Comments

Top Viewed Stories

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation