Big Tree: This New Year (Self-Released) 

On its second full-length album, this creative quintet shows off its obvious jazz influences, especially in the first three tracks, "This Fall," "Augury" and "Seattle Bound," which feature darting, unconventional melodies in a folk-pop setting.

But the title track, which comes fourth, goes beyond pleasant. It combines spritely piano, Dan Pirello's chilled-out guitar leads and singer Kaila McIntyre Bader's swooping, impassioned vocals about a winter-holiday reunion that becomes difficult. Listening again to the earlier tunes in the context of this amazing number, they all seem deeper. It's a masterly bit of CD-program-ming magic.

After the band's 2008 debut, members drifted off to regular employment and post-college life. This version of the group is a slightly reconstituted one, focused on touring and, judging from this new album, crafting shimmering chamber-pop that is fresh and eye-opening. Songs with multiple sections and offbeat instrumentation feature subtle bass grooves, harmonium, glockenspiel, synthesizer and peppery percussion.

The lullaby-like "Two Seasons"—with its trebly, almost-ukulele-style guitar, sweet vocals and gentle bass throb—is delicate and charming. "Open Window" gets funky with guitar sass. "Storm King" begins poetic and hypnotic, only to build momentum and intensity atop Bader's piano and rich, full-throated, multi-part harmonies.

For those with adventurous ears, The New Year is an embarrassment of riches.

More by Gene Armstrong

  • Primer

    Tony Furtado
    • May 29, 2014
  • Wills Meets Reinhardt

    L.A.'s Cow Bop blends bebop and Western swing into a superbly danceable combo
    • May 22, 2014
  • Finding (the Eighth) Mr. Right

    Superb performances drive the '60s satire of Live Theatre Workshop's Loot
    • May 15, 2014
  • More »


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

The Range

21 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: Dec. 14-16

Laughing Stock: Brewing Ha-Ha

Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, Dec. 13

More »

Latest in Rhythm & Views

  • Rhythm & Views

    American Monoxide “In Flight Mode” (People In A Position To Know)
    • Dec 18, 2014
  • Rhythm & Views

    Wight Lhite “Beyond the Satellites” (Paisley Shirt Records)
    • Dec 11, 2014
  • More »

Most Commented On

Facebook Activity

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation