Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Posted By on Tue, Aug 29, 2017 at 11:21 AM


Back in 1975, the George Eastman House in Rochester put together the influential New Topographics: Photographs of a Man-Altered Landscape exhibition, with photos showing an America scarred by ugly new subdivisions, rotting coal towers and mind-numbing office parks. The pristine landscapes prized by the likes of Ansel Adams were nowhere to be found, and many recoiled at the rebellious photographers’ “radical shift” from beauty. By 2010, when Tucson’s Center for Creative Photography re-created the now-famous show, photo audiences were far more accustomed to photographs that depicted the desecration of the land.

Emilia Mickevicius, a scholar visiting the Center for Creative Photography on a fellowship from the Photographic Arts Council of Los Angeles, will speak at 5 p.m. today about the public’s reaction to the groundbreaking 1975 show. Her lecture, "Photograph/Viewer/Landscape: Revisiting the Reception of New Topographics, 1975," is free and open to the public.

Mickevicius is a doctoral candidate in art history at Brown University, where she’s writing a dissertation on the original New Topographics exhibition. A graduate of the University of Chicago, she’s also held positions at the RISD Museum in Providence and at the Art Institute of Chicago.

For a review of the CCP re-creation of the original exhibition see Tucson Weekly, March 18, 2010

5 p.m. - 6 p.m. today, Tuesday, Aug. 29
Center for Creative Photography Auditorium
1030 N. Olive Rd.
creativephotography.org

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Posted By on Thu, Apr 27, 2017 at 1:45 PM

click to enlarge Skelton Crew. - BRIAN SMITH
Brian Smith
Skelton Crew.

"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Tags: , ,

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Posted By on Thu, Apr 20, 2017 at 8:02 AM

click to enlarge BRIAN SMITH
Brian Smith

"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Friday, April 14, 2017

Posted By on Fri, Apr 14, 2017 at 5:00 PM

click to enlarge Abella, glittering homestead. - BRIAN SMITH
Brian Smith
Abella, glittering homestead.

"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Tags: , ,

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Posted By on Tue, Apr 11, 2017 at 3:10 PM

click to enlarge Moonshadow. - BRIAN SMITH
Brian Smith
Moonshadow.

"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Tags: , ,

Friday, April 7, 2017

Posted By on Fri, Apr 7, 2017 at 4:45 PM

click to enlarge Bottle rockets. - BRIAN SMITH
Brian Smith
Bottle rockets.

"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Tags: ,

Monday, April 3, 2017

Posted By on Mon, Apr 3, 2017 at 11:30 AM

click to enlarge Reid Park Night - BRIAN SMITH
Brian Smith
Reid Park Night

"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Tags: ,

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Posted By on Wed, Mar 29, 2017 at 8:32 AM

click to enlarge Somewhere in Tucson. - BRIAN SMITH
Brian Smith
Somewhere in Tucson.

"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Posted By on Thu, Mar 23, 2017 at 6:25 PM


"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Tags: ,

Saturday, March 18, 2017

Posted By on Sat, Mar 18, 2017 at 3:45 PM


"Streets of This Town" is a little daily photo series featuring random pics I take on long walks through Tucson—to sort of coincide with Tucson Salvage.

Tags: