Tuesday, September 10, 2019

UA researchers among 347 winners of $3 million prize

Posted By on Tue, Sep 10, 2019 at 12:16 PM

The Event Horizon Telescope team, which revealed the first-ever image of a black hole on April 10, recently won the the 2020 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics. This prize, often called one of the "Oscars of Science" comes with a $3 million prize. That prize money will be split equally among all 347 members of the Event Horizon Telescope team, who co-authored the discovery in six different scientific papers.
click to enlarge COURTESY NASA
  • Courtesy NASA
Among the Event Horizon Telescope team are 21 University of Arizona researchers, students and telescope staff. The Event Horizon Telescope team managed to capture the first direct visual evidence of a supermassive black hole thanks to collaborations between multiple telescopes and universities across the world. The black hole in question lies at the center of Messier 87, a massive galaxy in the Virgo cluster roughly 55 million light-years from Earth.

When the prize money is divided equally among all 347 team members, each person will receive more than $8,000.

The 21 winners are:
Graduate Students: David Ball, Junhan Kim, Lia Medeiros, Mel Rose, Arash Roshanineshat, Tyler Trent.
Undergraduates: Kyle D. Massingill, Chi H. Nguyen.
Faculty/Astronomers: Chi-kwan Chan, Buell T. Jannuzi, Daniel P. Marrone, Feryal Özel, Dimitrios Psaltis, Lucy Ziurys.
Postdocs/Engineers: Pierre Christian, Thomas W. Folkers, David C. Forbes, Robert Freund, Christopher H. Greer, Martin P. McColl, George Reiland.

Tags: , , , ,


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Jeff Gardner

  • Reel Indie

    Movies in your local indie theaters.
    • Nov 14, 2019
  • Know Your Product

    Stars Pick Their Top 5! This Week: Black Belt Eagle Scout
    • Nov 14, 2019
  • Introducing El Crisol

    Exo Bar changes names, hosts new mezcal events
    • Nov 14, 2019
  • More »
Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Anger is Our Ally, Not Our Enemy

Anger is Our Ally, Not Our Enemy @ Sheraton Hotel and Suites

Thu., Nov. 21, 6-8 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

TMA Holiday Art Market

The Holiday Art Market brings together more than 100 artisans selling handmade and one-of-a-kind items. Browse original… More

@ Tucson Museum of Art Fri., Nov. 22, 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Sat., Nov. 23, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. and Sun., Nov. 24, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. 140 N. Main Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Dusk Music Fest 2019 Redux (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. They've Improved The State's School Grading System. Now It Tells Us Even Less Than It Used To. (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Trump's Gobbler (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Things to Do, Nov. 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation