Thursday, February 14, 2019

Eviction Highlighted in Series of Library Events

Posted By on Thu, Feb 14, 2019 at 12:12 PM

click to enlarge website_header.png
Eviction is an issue of national importance, but it also plays out locally. Last year in Pima County, more than 13,000 evictions were filed in court and any more  happen that never make it to court.

In February and March, select Pima County Public Library book clubs will read Matthew Desmond's Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City, a book that will change the way we look at poverty in America.

The series will culminate with a community dialogue, "The Eviction Problem in Pima County: What can we do?," led by Stacy Butler, director of the Innovation for Justice Program and founding member of Step Up to Justice.

BOOK DISCUSSIONS

Tuesday, Feb. 19, 10 a.m. – noon
Oro Valley Public Library (Registration is required for this event. Please call 594-5580)

Saturday, Feb. 23, 10 – 11 a.m.
Murphy-Wilmot Library

Thursday, March 7, noon – 1 p.m.
Joel D. Valdez Main Library

Monday, March 11, 1:30 – 3 p.m.
Dusenberry-River Library

PANEL DISCUSSION (You don't need to have read the book to attend)

Thursday, March 21, 6 – 8 p.m.
Joel D. Valdez Main Library

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by Pima County Public Library

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: Mueller Time (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things To Do in Tucson Today: Monday, March 25 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Arizona Women’s Basketball Heading to WNIT Sweet 16 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation