Friday, January 6, 2017

You Can Now Avoid the Grant/Kolb/Tanque Verde Intersection

Posted By on Fri, Jan 6, 2017 at 8:00 AM


click to enlarge bridgeribboncutting.jpg

With the opening of Airmen Memorial Bridge, eastsiders now have an option to avoid the fustercluck intersection of Grant/Kolb/Tanque Verde roads: A direct link between Kolb and Sabino Canyon roads.

The $12.3 million RTA project was controversial—some of the neighbors living west of Udall Park were fiercely opposed to plan—but the idea was to reduce traffic at Grant/Kolb/Tanque Verde by creating a new bridge over the Pantano Wash. The route should also reduce the number of people who need to head north by turning left at the intersection of Tanque Verde and Sabino Canyon roads.

The new bridge is named for 18 airmen who died following a mid-air collision of two B-24 Liberators on a training mission over the Pantano Wash on Nov. 30, 1944, according to city spokesman Michael Graham.

Comments (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-7 of 7

Add a comment

More by Jim Nintzel

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Nights @ Reid Park Zoo

Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. After Her Immigration Bill Fails, McSally Crows That It "Nearly" Passed (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. 31 Great Things to do in Tucson this Weekend: Friday June 22-Sunday June 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. UA Has Plenty of Cool Attractions for Summer (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Space Balls II (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Gov Race: Ken Bennett Talks Education, Gun Safety and Balancing the Budget (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation