Thursday, August 4, 2016

NAACP Calls For a Moratorium on Charter Schools

Posted By on Thu, Aug 4, 2016 at 11:33 AM

click to enlarge SHUTTERSTOCK
  • Shutterstock
A resolution from the NAACP at the organization's National Convention in Cincinnati in July calls for a moratorium on charter schools. It isn't official policy until it is voted on at the National Board meeting in the Fall.

The resolution includes a number of concerns about charters. It states that charters increase segregation; some low-quality charters in low-income areas "mirror predatory lending practices;" the schools' boards are generally appointed, not elected; many use harsh disciplinary measures; and government oversight of charters is too weak.

The document states:
THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the NAACP reaffirms its 2014 Resolution, "School Privatization Threat to Public Education," in which the NAACP opposes the privatization of public schools and/or public subsidizing or funding of for-profit or charter schools.
Later language, however, talks about making sure charters currently in operation are better managed and overseen, meaning it isn't calling for the elimination of charters. It states, "the NAACP hereby supports a moratorium on the proliferation of privately managed charter schools."

The resolution is stronger than language in the Democratic Party platform, which has similar concerns yet praises "high quality public charter schools [which] provide options for parents," but there's not a lot of daylight between the two documents. As would be expected, Democrats for Education Reform, which represents the "education reform"/privatization wing of the Democratic party, is very critical of the NAACP resolution, as it is of the education planks of the Democratic platform related to charter schools.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments (21)

Showing 1-21 of 21

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-21 of 21

Add a comment

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Tucson's Newest Sports Team (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Zona Politics: Talking Congressional and Legislative Races with Journalists Dylan Smith and Hank Stephenson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. 22 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: Sept. 21-Sept. 23 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation