Tuesday, April 5, 2016

It's State Testing—and Opt Out—Season

Posted By on Tue, Apr 5, 2016 at 1:49 PM


Message from Diane Ravitch about Opt Out from Shoot4Education on Vimeo.

The Opt Out movement, which encourages parents to pull their children out of the yearly standardized testing regimen, is alive and well, though you wouldn't know it in Arizona. Two opt out bills were proposed and went down during this year's legislative session, and our Attorney General Mark Brnovich said Arizona children cannot legally opt out of the test. That's not entirely true, but opting out is difficult enough, it hasn't caught on here in a big way like it has in some other states.

The video above is a two minute talk by Diane Ravitch about why high stakes tests are problematic and why parents should consider opting their children out of the test. Ravitch is an educational historian and researcher who has written a number of books, including her very influential 2010 book, The Death and Live of the Great American School System. She is currently the President of the Network for Public Education, an organization that promotes progressive education and fights against the privatization agenda of the "education reform" movement.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Arlo Needs a Home (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Weekly List: 23 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation