Friday, February 5, 2016

Club Camera Tucson Hosts Photography Workshops at Agua Caliente Park

Posted By on Fri, Feb 5, 2016 at 12:00 PM

click to enlarge “Happy Hands,” an ancient petroglyph from the Paria Canyon of northern Arizona, is one of the featured images at “Lensmasters." - JAMES CAPO
  • James Capo
  • “Happy Hands,” an ancient petroglyph from the Paria Canyon of northern Arizona, is one of the featured images at “Lensmasters."
If you're looking to get out of those house and fine tune those photo skills all in one go, Club Camera Tucson has some events for you. Beginning on Wednesday, Feb. 5 and continuing throughout the month, the local camera club will be sponsoring three different workshops that will focus on different aspects of shooting outdoors at the historic Agua Caliente Park (12325 E. Roger Road).

On Wednesday, Feb. 10, Club Camera landscape and nature photographer James Capo will offer tips for taking "Better Backyard Bird Photography." The workshop runs from 9:30 until 11:30 a.m.

Then, on Thursday, Feb. 18 from 10 a.m. 'til noon, Capo will be teaching the "Shoot Better Landscapes" workshop, with an emphasis on composition and light in natural settings.

Finally, on Wednesday, Feb. 24, you can learn the "Top Tips for Better Travel Photos" from the club's president Steve Dell. The final workshop, which begins at 10 a.m., will teach how to shoot pictures worthy of travel magazines on your own vacation. 

The workshops are open to all skill levels with tips that work for almost any camera, with both classroom and hands-on instruction. All workshops are free to Pima County Natural Resources Parks and Recreation (NRPR) annual passholders or $5 for non-passholders, with free entry to the park and gallery included. Registration is required in advance, and can be made through Pima County's website by clicking "Register Now."

The workshops are sponsored in conjunction with an fine art photography exhibit titled “Lensmasters: Life and Landscapes of the Southwest,” which is on display at the Ranch House Art Gallery at the park from Feb. 6 through March 2. A "Meet the Artists" reception will take place on Sunday, Feb. 14 from 1 until 3 p.m.


Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Related Locations

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Heather Hoch

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
PiYo Strength Class

PiYo Strength Class @ Floor Polish

Thursdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. The Weekly List: 29 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Saving the Sanctuary: Tucson City Council Pushes for Historic Status for Midtown Benedictine Monastery as Development Battle Intensifies (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. The Evolution and Devolution of Diane Douglas (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Quiñones' Creeper Rides High (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation