Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Cinema Clips: The Final Girls

Posted By on Tue, Oct 6, 2015 at 3:00 PM


Max (Taissa Farmiga) loses her mom (Malin Akerman) in a car accident. Her mom, Nancy, was a struggling horror film actress best known for a Friday the 13th-type, summer camp slasher movie made in the eighties. After agreeing to show up for a screening of her late mom’s film, Max and her friends journey inside the movie, where Max winds up hanging out with her mom, who isn’t really her mom and is actually Amanda, the character she played in the film. The movie is crazy enough to work on a few levels, although it suffers a bit because the movie is rated PG-13, strange for a movie spoofing films that have hard-R ratings. There are some good laughs due mainly to a strong supporting cast with comedy chops, including Thomas Middleditch (“Silicon Valley”), Adam Devine (“Workaholics”) and Alexander Ludwig (“Grown Ups 2”…okay, Alexander doesn’t provide a lot of laughs). Dan B. Morris provides a nice bit of authenticity playing Billy, a slasher villain modeled after Jason from the “Friday the 13th” movies. Norris has the moves down well, and deserves to be in the running for the sure-to-happen someday “Friday the 13th” reboot. Director Todd Strauss-Schulson has made a fun film, but it could’ve been batter had it added some more horror elements like over-the-top gore. It feels like the movie chickened out a bit.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Bob Grimm

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Nights @ Reid Park Zoo

Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: This is MAGA (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Claytoon of the Day: The Chump Foundation (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Four Great Things to do in Tucson Today: Thursday, June 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Is Blarney in the Blood? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. New Ballot Initiative Promises Cheaper Electricity Bills and Cleaner Air (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation