Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Second Chance Job Fair Hopes to Help Convicted Criminals, Unemployed People Reintegrate into Labor Force

Posted By on Tue, Aug 18, 2015 at 4:15 PM

click to enlarge COURTESY OF THE COMMUNITY PARTNERSHIP OF SOUTHERN ARIZONA
  • Courtesy of the Community Partnership of Southern Arizona

For those having a tough time reintegrating into the labor force—for instance, after doing jail or prison time—the city is hosting a "second chance" job fair tomorrow. Keep in mind, though, anyone who might benefit can also attend—not just people with a prior criminal conviction.

The fair on Aug. 19 at the Tucson Convention Center's Apache Ballroom, is bringing together several local employers—such as Goodwill Southern Arizona, Jim Click and others (totaling more than 40)—to give people tips on how to overcome issues faced on their "reentry efforts," according to City Councilman Steve Kozachik's weekly newsletter. 

"This is an issue of concern to the entire community. We talk about homelessness, unemployment, recidivism, and how all of that impacts Tucson," Kozachik says in the newsletter.

The Community Partnership of Southern Arizona—which provides employment opportunities "for those overcoming a difficult past and establishing a prosperous future"—and Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild are among those leading the efforts.

The job fair is happening from 1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Tags: , , , , ,

Related Locations

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

More by María Inés Taracena

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Two Great Things to Do in Tucson: Monday, June 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: Is Blarney in the Blood? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. A Bitter Cup of News: Revolutionary Grounds Is Grinding to a Halt (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. In Which I Find Myself Agreeing With (1) John Huppenthal and (2) The Charles Koch Institute (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: Fun with Dictators (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation