Tuesday, July 28, 2015

City of Tucson Hosting Special Day in August to Reduce Backlog of Arrest Warrants

Posted By on Tue, Jul 28, 2015 at 11:20 AM

click to enlarge COURTESY OF PHOTOSPIN
  • Courtesy of Photospin
The city of Tucson is going to host a special day next month to try to tackle a backlog of more than 40,000 arrest warrants—most stemming from failure to appear in court.

These warrants total about $120 million in uncollected fines, City Councilman Steve Kozachik says on his weekly newsletter. 

On so-called Warrant Day—happening Saturday, Aug. 8—people with a warrant can head to the Tucson City Court, 103 E. Alameda, and work on a plea agreement and/or a payment plan to pay off any fines, which doesn't mean you're off the hook, according to Kozachik. Whatever charges a person may have will still be on that person's record and the person can still be taken to jail if the charges are not cleared.

"However it works out, though, you won’t have to drive around worrying about getting busted if you’re pulled over, and the city will be able to finally clear the debt from its books," he says. 

If you think you might have a warrant on your name, check out the City Court website, www.tucsonaz.gov/courts, and click on the “see if you have a warrant” link.

Warrant Day is an all-day event.

Tags: , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

More by María Inés Taracena

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: Free Kool-Aid (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. In Which I Find Myself Agreeing With (1) John Huppenthal and (2) The Charles Koch Institute (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Two Great Things to Do in Tucson: Monday, June 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Is Blarney in the Blood? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: Fun with Dictators (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation