Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Watch Your Favorite Sci-Fi Flicks at Fox Theatre

Posted By on Wed, Jul 15, 2015 at 1:55 PM

They really should've listened to Ripley from the get go, am I right? - COURTESY OF 20TH CENTURY FOX
  • Courtesy of 20th Century Fox
  • They really should've listened to Ripley from the get go, am I right?

Grab a seat in the cool, dark Fox Tucson Theatre on Saturday, July 18 and be transported aboard the Nostromo when the historic venue hosts a special screening of 1979 sci-fi horror thriller classic Alien. Ridley Scott's penchant for suspense combined with designer and artist HR Giger's industrial gothic aesthetic creates a visually-stunning and tense flick that, through the use of real special effects and not crummy CGI, stands the test of time over 35 years later. Plus, Ripley (Sigourney Weaver) is a total badass.

However, that's not the only sci-fi flick showing at the beautifully restored '30s-era movie house. E.T., The Matrix and Close Encounters of the Third Kind will all be projected in 35mm on the big screen on July 25, Aug. 1 and Aug. 15, respectively.

All screenings begin at 7:30 p.m. and are $7 for entry. For tickets and more information, visit the Fox Tucson Theatre website.

And, without further ado, here's Ripley being totally rad:


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Locations

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Heather Hoch

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: Yappy Jesus (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Cinema Clips: Hereditary (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Exo Roast Co. Ditches Plastic for Paper (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Fjord Needs a Family (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Is Blarney in the Blood? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation