Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Thrillist Wants Eegee's to Expand Nationwide—Sorry, Rest of the Country, It's Ours

Posted By on Tue, Jun 30, 2015 at 4:30 PM

click image You love it. I love it. The whole contry loves it. - EEGEE'S / FACEBOOK
  • Eegee's / Facebook
  • You love it. I love it. The whole contry loves it.
After a couple weeks of national love for Tucson's dining scene courtesy of New York Times, NY Magazine and even Playboy, it seems that even our fast food is drawing the admiring gaze of national media outlets. On Monday, June 29, lifestyle listicle website Thrillist released a round-up of single-city restaurant chains that they wish would expand their delicious reach and one Tucson institution made the cut. 

I'll admit, before I clicked, I had a strong feeling the anomalously-in-just-Tucson Eegee's would pop up on the top 12 list, and there it was. That's because it seems most people, including the chichi "foodies" and even the governor (who seems to hate most good things like education and human rights), dig the occasional visit to Eegee's.

Thrillist had this to say of our favorite place to grab a flavored icy treat with a side of crinkle fries:

A sandwich chain with the same density in the Tucson metro area as Subway has in... well, the rest of the country, eegee’s is a sandwich & slushie chain with an extensive menu of subs and frozen fruit drinks (or “eegees”) to wash them down with, even though the consistency of the slushies makes them more like a dessert than a drink. It's also famed for its ranch-topped fries, which are crowned with imitation bacon bits and more than inspire imitation.
However, Tucson has other chains worthy of expansion. After all, even Phoenix decided it was time to adopt El Guero Canelo and we can't blame them. What other Tucson chains do you think should've made the list?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments (22)

Showing 1-22 of 22

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-22 of 22

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Heather Hoch

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Erma Bombeck: At Wit's End

A loving tribute to Ohio wife and mother turned longtime Arizona resident who made herself into a… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Oct. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Oct. 21, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Oct. 23, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Oct. 24, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Oct. 25, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Oct. 26, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Oct. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Oct. 28, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Oct. 30, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Oct. 31, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Nov. 1, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Nov. 2, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Nov. 3, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Nov. 4, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Nov. 8, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Nov. 9, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Nov. 10, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Downtown Developers Announce Plan for a New Hotel Tower (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Monday, Oct. 22 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. In Our City of Gastronomy, Learn About the Social Justice and Politics of Food (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Maroon 5 to Perform at the 2019 Super Bowl (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: Something, Something, Tax Cuts (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation