Tuesday, June 30, 2015

Catch Best Dog Award at Club Congress Before They Head Out on Tour

Posted By on Tue, Jun 30, 2015 at 2:30 PM

click to enlarge Get your BDA fix at Congress on Wednesday. - BEST DOG AWARD / FACEBOOK
  • Best Dog Award / Facebook
  • Get your BDA fix at Congress on Wednesday.

Local chilled out psych rockers Best Dog Award are headed up the west coast on tour for the next few weeks in support of their new release Faith-Based Space Place. If you haven't heard it yet, the five-song EP showcases the bands penchant for melding wave-like reverb-laced guitar with sunny electro-organ resulting in a sometimes relaxingly mellow, sometimes wiggle-inducing and upbeat, but always super dreamy mix of BDA's best work to date. Made at downtown's St. Cecilia Studios, the recording is clean and straightforward, without being cloyingly produced.

So, before they go out to California to spread Faith-Based Space Place along the coast, you'll want to catch Best Dog Award at Club Congress (311 E. Congress St.) on Wednesday, July 1. Starting at 8 p.m., freak funk trio Shooda Shook It and the fun and fuzzy Phoenix act Strange Lot will open up. Tickets will be sold at the door the day of for $5 and it's an all ages event.

Until then, make sure to check out their music video for "Successful," which was released earlier this month. The trippy space throwback video features some familiar venues, most notably D&D Pinball off Fourth Avenue, and was directed by Tucson ex-pat Caleb Jackson. 


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Locations

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Heather Hoch

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
DO(OM) Yoga

DO(OM) Yoga @ Floor Polish

Sundays, 8-9 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. XOXO: Where to Rock This Weekend, March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: The Conway Mood Killer (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation