Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Arizona Board of Education Set to Review Common Core

Posted By on Tue, Apr 28, 2015 at 8:30 AM

click to enlarge COURTESY OF SHUTTERSTOCK
  • Courtesy of Shutterstock

The Arizona Board of Education has created a committee that'll be in charge of reviewing the Common Core standards for math and English language arts.

The 17-member committee—made up of Superintendent of Public Instruction Diane Douglas (who based her entire campaign on her opposition to Common Core), business owners, college deans, teachers and parents —will host a series of public hearings for input, and collaborate with "English and math experts" who will draft the new standards.

The change is expected before the end of this school year.

Last month, at the same time a bill that sought to kill the so-called College and Career Ready Standards remained alive in the state Legislature, Gov. Doug Ducey asked the board to review the standards, use the basics for foundation, dump what is perceived as unnecessary, and create language that is more in tune with Arizona. 

"We can learn from others, but at the end of the day the standards need to come from Arizona and they need to help us achieve our objectives," Ducey told the board at the time. "And in any instance during your review, you find situations where Arizona standards can outperform the ones already adopted, I ask you to replace them."

Several anti-Common Core bills died this past legislative session, as did the year before. 

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

More by María Inés Taracena

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, March 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Arizona Spends $7,613 More Per Student In White Districts Than In Nonwhite Districts? Really? (Answer: No, Not Really) (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation