Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Join the Conversation about Mass Incarceration in America at the YWCA

Posted By on Tue, Apr 28, 2015 at 10:00 AM

click image The YWCA's Mass Incarceration series continues Wednesday. - YWCA TUCSON / FACEBOOK
  • YWCA Tucson / Facebook
  • The YWCA's Mass Incarceration series continues Wednesday.

As part of the YWCA's mission to empower women and eliminate racism, the community center, located at 525 Bonita Ave., is hosting a series of forums that discuss the issue of mass incarceration in America. 

On Wednesday, the second part of the series will discuss mass incarceration of women and people of color in the U.S. and how it affects the community. The event will feature the work of prison reform advocate Sue Ellen Allen as a part of the year-long Campaign for Real Justice. Allen authored the book "The Slumber Party from Hell," chronicling her own prison experience.

According to the YWCA, the fastest growing population of inmates in the country per capita is women, over 60 percent of whom are incarcerated with drug charges. Men and women of color are also impacted, especially considering individuals imprisoned due to rigid federal minimum sentencing for "crack" cocaine users.

The discussion will begin at 6 p.m. on Wednesday, April 29. Future events in the series are planned for September 23 and November 18.

Also, on Friday, May 1, the YWCA will be celebrating 98 years in the community with a special breakfast. Beginning at 8:30 a.m., you can enjoy breakfast in the courtyard while civil rights activist and leader Missouri senator Maria Chappelle-Nadal addresses the crowd. You can purchase tickets for the event via the YWCA website.

Editor's Note: This post has been modified to correct the date of the November 18 event.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Related Locations

Comments (5)

Showing 1-5 of 5

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-5 of 5

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Heather Hoch

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Monday, March 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: A Rising Threat (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Arizona Basketball: Sean Miller's Offseason of Discontent (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 15 to 17 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation