Monday, April 13, 2015

City Council Elections: The GOP Slate Emerges

Posted By on Mon, Apr 13, 2015 at 2:30 PM

click to enlarge FLICKR/DONKEYHOTEY
  • Flickr/DonkeyHotey

It appears that we now have at least three Republican candidates for this year's City Council election.

The three GOP hopefuls filed on Friday, April 10.

Bill Hunt, a pilot who takes trips with the Tucson chapter of the Flying Samaritans, wants to challenge Democrat Regina Romero, who is seeking a third term in westside Ward 1.

Kelly Lawton, who works for Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, wants to take on Democrat Paul Cunningham, who is seeking his second full term in northeastern Ward 2.

And Margaret Burkholder, who serves on the Vail School District governing board, wants to unseat Democrat Shirley Scott, who is seeking her fifth term in southeastern Ward 4.

There's still no sign of a mayoral candidate. The Range had heard that a fellow named Zach Catsaros was putting together a campaign but his plans have hit some kind of snag. Catsaros has not replied to a Facebook message sent last week.


Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Jim Nintzel

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. LD-2 Candidates Debate on Education, Poverty, Environment and the Wall (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Claytoon of the Day: Why I Didn't Report (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. New Trump Plan Would Restrict Green Cards for Immigrants Who Use Public Funds (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Ducey, Garcia Clash Over Education, Border Security in First Televised Debate (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation