Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Pima County Can Continue to Hire Smokers

Posted By on Tue, Feb 17, 2015 at 3:00 PM

click to enlarge shutterstock_214726639.jpg

Smokers: you can still get a job with Pima County!

The Board of Supervisors voted against a proposal that would have banned the hiring of smokers as an attempt to save money on health care costs. However, the supervisors did agree to charge an insurance premium surcharge (30 percent, but if you take a smoking cessation course you wouldn't have to pay anything) to employees who smoke or use a tobacco product.

The county, which is self-insured, estimates 32 percent of its more than 2,000 workers are tobacco users and that banning smoking would save more than $1 million in health care costs, according to The Associated Press. 

You should still try quitting though, because it's not good for you and you can't smoke indoors anymore—which means you have to walk outside in the middle of a conversation to light one up, and that can get annoying.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

More by María Inés Taracena

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Laff’s and Tears, Plus New Mics (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. The Weekly List: 22 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation