Thursday, February 5, 2015

More Than 174K Arizonans Have Signed Up for Obamacare This Enrollment Period

Posted By on Thu, Feb 5, 2015 at 1:28 PM

click to enlarge COURTESY OF SHUTTERSTOCK
  • Courtesy of Shutterstock
Don't forget everyone, you have until Feb. 15 to sign up for health insurance under the Affordable Care Act. Pima County is hosting a couple more of events to help you through the process, paperwork, etc., including one this Saturday at Tucson High Magnet School.

If you don't sign up by the deadline, you won't get covered until 2016 and face tax penalties. But this state seems to be doing pretty well.

Since open enrollment began Nov. 15, the number of Arizonans who signed up or healthcare on the federal marketplace has surpassed last enrollment period's by about 55,000 people.

From The Associated Press:
The enrollment figures released Wednesday by the U.S. Health & Human Services Department show more than 174,000 people signed up for a new plan or had an existing plan that renewed.

In the first Affordable Care Act open enrollment period that ended last March 31, 120,000 Arizonans signed up.

The department for the first time provided a breakdown for the state's two major metropolitan areas. Nearly 120,000 people in metropolitan Phoenix signed up for insurance, while the Tucson area had more than 27,000 signups.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by María Inés Taracena

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Monday, March 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Tucson Roadrunners Unveil Kachina-Themed Jerseys (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: A Rising Threat (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. GIVEAWAY: Win Tickets to KFMADay 2019! (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation