Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Pima Representatives are in Chicago for Accreditation Hearing

Posted By on Tue, Jan 13, 2015 at 9:00 AM

click to enlarge Lee Lambert
  • Lee Lambert
Well, the day is officially here: Pima Community College chancellor Lee Lambert, a few Pima administrators, and a member of the governing board are representing the college at an Institutional Actions Council Hearing Committee of the Higher Learning Commission.

The hearing will decide the college's accreditation status, which has been on probation for the last two years following accusations of corruption at the top level. The college is expected to be pulled from probation, based on a recommendation filled after a recent visit to the college. 

The college has seen many changes in the years since the issues arose, including a new leader in Lambert, two new faces elected the the governing board, and many new systems to protect employees and benefit students.

While these changes seem to have impressed the HLC visitors enough to recommend Pima be taken off probation, they did note that many of Pima's programs are still very new, and it will take time to see of they truly are working as well as they need to be. Pima will likely be taken off probation, but put On Notice—basically meaning the college's accreditation won't be in jeopardy, but the HLC will be following the college's progress closely.

This year will also mark the departure of CJ Karamargin, the PR guy lead Pima though several tough years in the public eye.

Here's hoping for good things in Pima's future. Affordable, quality education can only lead to good things.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: Why I Didn't Report (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Slideshow: Paws for the Fresh, Fluffy and Sleek Doggos of Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Dogs’ Adoption Fees Cut in Half: PACC Celebrating National Dog Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Tucson Storytellers: How Tucson Became Home (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Maroon 5 to Perform at the 2019 Super Bowl (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation