Friday, January 9, 2015

Dillinger Days Has a Speakeasy This Year So Get Your Tickets Now

Posted By on Fri, Jan 9, 2015 at 4:00 PM

click image Prepare to get a little lawless at Dillinger Days. - HOTEL CONGRESS/ FACEBOOK
  • Hotel Congress/ Facebook
  • Prepare to get a little lawless at Dillinger Days.

January is rushing by already so before you know it, it'll be time for Dillinger Days. On Jan. 23 and 24, the outlaw celebration will commence at Hotel Congress, bringing reenactments, live music, and a heavy dose of history to downtown Tucson.

However, the event's kick-off function will be a 1930s-inspired speakeasy party at the hotel. With themed bites from Cup Cafe and a steady flow of Whiskey del Bac and special Borderlands brews, as well as a cigar lounge, the event will attempt to transport guests to Dillinger's time. In terms of entertainment, a photo booth, vintage car and magic shows, and live music courtesy of Kings of Pleasure and Desert Melodies will keep attendees busy between the booze. 

The speakeasy will start at 7 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 23. Tickets can be bought online in advance for $25 with the proceeds going to the Greater Tucson Fire Foundation. 

Of course, that's not all that's in store for Dillinger Days this year. The following day at Hotel Congress will be jam-packed with historical skits, tours, and lectures as well as art, live music, and a beer garden featuring local beer. All of that and more will take place on Saturday, Jan. 24 from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. and it is free to attend.

Here's some footage from past Dillinger Days festivities in case you're a first-timer:



Tags: , , , , ,

Related Locations

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Heather Hoch

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Celebrate National Public Lands Day (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: Bert, Ernie, and Squirmy (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation