Monday, November 24, 2014

Mystikal's Appearance on Saturday Night Live Was the Highlight of Your Weekend (Whether You Knew That or Not)

Posted By on Mon, Nov 24, 2014 at 9:54 AM

While I would have been better off not going to Wikipedia to see what it was New Orleans rapper Mystikal went to prison for, his No Limit-meets-James Brown appearance with Bruno Mars and Mark Ronson on Saturday Night Live was a spectacular bit of live music on TV. Then again, if you throw the horns from Sharon Jones' backing band, the Dap-Kings, behind nearly anything it would be worth a listen.

As a bonus, here's a track from Ronson's 2003 album, Here Comes the Fuzz, "Ooh Wee," which has the good fortune of having appearances by Ghostface Killah and the late Nate Dogg.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
DO(OM) Yoga

DO(OM) Yoga @ Floor Polish

Sundays, 8-9 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Zona Politics: Congressman Raul Grijalva and Congressional District 2 Candidate Mary Matiella (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Marcus Coleman Named Inaugural Tucson Indoor Football Head Coach (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Google Gestapo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. David Garcia Declared Winner in the Arizona Democratic Governor's Race (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation