Friday, October 17, 2014

UPDATE: You Can Marry Today, Right Now at Pima County Clerk's Office

Posted By on Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 11:10 AM

equal.jpg

As we previously reported (see blow), yes, this morning a federal judge struck down Arizona's anti-same-sex marriage law as unconstitutional. Although previously reported that state Attorney General Tom Horne would have a press conference on Monday and, while not interested in an appeal, that would be when most counties across the state could issue marriage licenses to same-sex couple.

According to the Pima County Clerk's office, flooded with phone calls at the moment, you can come down there right now — right now and get married. They will have new license in on Monday with the language changed, but if you want to get married today, you can and just cross off what doesn't apply and then go back on Monday to get a new license at no extra charge.

Tucson Weekly will be at the Clerk's office soon, and feel free to email Mari Herreras your wedding plans, mherreras@tucsonweekly.com. Better yet, call her - 520-390-4911.

_________________________________________________________________

Tonight, in celebration of U.S. District Court Judge John Sedwick's decision this morning, ruling Arizona's anti-marriage equality law unconstitutional, there will be a rally at Grace St. Paul's Episcopal Church, 2331 E. Adams St., 6 p.m.

Here is Sedwick's decision:

Arizona_ruling.pdf

"The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit recently ruled that substantially identical provisions of Nevada and Idaho law that prohibit same-sex marriages are invalid because they deny same-sex couples equal protection of the law, the right to which is guaranteed by the Constitution of the United States," Sedwick wrote in his brief ruling. "This court is bound by decisions of the Court of Appeals."

When marriage licenses to same-sex couples can be issued by county clerks throughout the state is unclear, although state Attorney General Tom Horne has said it's unlikely Arizona will appeal. However, he's reportedly having a press conference on Monday. According to a Arizona Republic report, Pima County would need a few days to have new licenses printed.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments (2)

Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-2 of 2

Add a comment

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: Manafort Flips (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, Sept. 18 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Crawling for Some Grub (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Arizona Republicans Are All In For "Education Reform." Charter School Reform? Not So Much. (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: Beto Vs. Creepo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation