Thursday, October 2, 2014

Brewer Cuts The Legs Out From Under The "No More Money For Schools" Crowd

Posted By on Thu, Oct 2, 2014 at 2:30 PM

If there was ever any question whether Doug Ducey will be a more conservative governor than our conservative Governor Brewer if he's elected, those questions have once again been put to rest. Brewer made it clear she thinks the state should pay the schools the $317 million they're owed. Ducey has said over and over that he wants to fight the voter-mandated payment to schools in the courts. After all, he says, money doesn't buy better education, so why not be 48th, or lower, in the amount we spend per student? Balance the budget on the backs of our children? Works for Ducey.

Conservative though Brewer may be, the legislature is well to her right, and Ducey is right there with the lege. Expect that the rare-but-important sensible measures Brewer has taken over the years won't be happening if Ducey is elected. More likely he'll work with his fellow far right wingers in the legislature to reverse whatever good Brewer has done when she's taken a few steps away from the wingnuts.

Of course, we could always elect Fred DuVal for governor, who would create a firewall against the crazies in the legislature, like Napolitano did — and the crazies weren't as crazy back then. That's always a possibility, especially if more people understand what they'll get if Ducey is our next governor.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments (13)

Showing 1-13 of 13

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-13 of 13

Add a comment

More by David Safier

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, March 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Arizona Spends $7,613 More Per Student In White Districts Than In Nonwhite Districts? Really? (Answer: No, Not Really) (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation