Tuesday, September 30, 2014

The Community Food Bank Offers Gardening Tips Via YouTube

Posted By on Tue, Sep 30, 2014 at 3:00 PM

I feel like I threaten to start a garden every week or so, generally right after spending more than I care to on produce at Sprouts, but hey...where do you even start such a venture here in the desert? Thankfully, the fine folks at the Community Food Bank have a new helpful video on gardening here in the Old Pueblo, plus they have a bunch of classes in October to help you take the next steps:

Soil and Compost Saturday, October 4
Rainwater Harvesting Thursday, October 9
Planting a Healthy Garden Saturday, October 11
Backyard Chickens Saturday, October 11
Garden Basics Intensive Tuesday, October 14
Water Saving Irrigation - Saturday, October 18
Wormania! - Saturday, October 18
Sustainable Design - Friday, October 24
Irrigating with Gray Water - Saturday, October 25
Diseño Sostenible - Saturday, October 25
Soil and Compost - Friday, October 31
All About Soil - Saturday, November 1
La Tierra y el Abono - Saturday, November 1
Planting a Healthy Garden - Friday, November 7
Seeds and Sprouts: Gardening for Kids - Saturday, November 8
Fruit Trees: Selection, Care, Pruning and Propagation - Saturday, November 8
Cultivar un Jardín Saludable - Saturday, November 8
Wormania! - Saturday, November 15
Home Canning, Freezing and Drying - Thursday, November 20

For gardening info and resources galore, check out the Food Bank's website.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum Cool Summer Nights

Beat Arizona heat and enjoy a family-friendly outing during the Desert Museum’s Cool Summer Nights. The stunning… More

@ Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum Saturdays, 5-10 p.m. Continues through Sept. 2 2021 N. Kinney Road.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. A Few Thoughts on the New AzMERIT Scores (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. HoCo Fest Labor Day Weekend Schedule Unveiled Today (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Tour Diaries: XIXA Day 8: 'Gabe Heard and Saw Me Reset My Knee From Across the Room.' (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Cinema Clips: Spider Man: Homecoming (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. The Ward 3 Tucson City Council Zona Politics Debate (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2017 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation