Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Haunting Images of Homelessness on Display at Hotel Congress

Posted By on Tue, Sep 30, 2014 at 12:00 PM

i_have_a_name_project.jpg

The Hotel Congress lobby is hosting a powerful exhibition of photos by Jon Linton who aims to bring a bit of humanity to how we perceive those living on the streets:

From the press release:

In 2007, Jon Linton volunteered at a shelter to better understand the plight of those without a door to walk through at day’s end. He then began gathering imagery to document the homeless. Years of work have recently given rise to a large social media following, several exhibitions and a book entitled, I Have a Name. Mr. Linton still works actively in outreach and continues to collect stories and images from folks on the street

“One of the most poignant moments of this project came at the Project's inception. I asked the first man I had a conversation with his name, his reply put us both in tears, 'You have no idea how long it has been since someone has cared to ask me who I am ’, he said. The project became 'I Have a Name' in that
instant, said Jon Linton, photographer, creator and founder of IHAN.

The exhibition runs through November 10, with an artist reception scheduled for October 11. See more of the photos on the project's Instagram page.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments (4)

Showing 1-4 of 4

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-4 of 4

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. XOXO: Where to Rock This Weekend, March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: The Conway Mood Killer (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation