Monday, September 29, 2014

The Loft Film Fest Looks Amazing

Posted By on Mon, Sep 29, 2014 at 12:00 PM

The Loft Cinema is back with the fifth annual Loft Film Fest in just a few weeks. In additional to dozens of films over four days—you can find a complete program for the festival here—the Loft will bring a lot of filmmakers to discuss their work between Thursday, Oct. 16, and Sunday, Oct. 19.

This year's special guests include Bruce Dern, who will receive the Lee Marvin Maverick Award; Stacy Keach, who will receive the Bob Shelton Award; and novelist and screenwriter Larry McMurtry, who will receive the Lofty Lifetime Achievement Award. McMurtry will be on hand opening night, Thursday, Oct. 16, for a screening of The Last Picture Show, while Keach and Dern will attend a screening of Nebraska on Saturday, Oct. 18, and a talk about their careers on Sunday, Oct. 19.

A few that I'm looking forward to include Fort Tilden, an indie flick that took home the Grand Jury Award winner at this year’s SXSW Film Festival; Dinosaur 13, a documentary about the strange legal struggle that followed the discovery of a 65-million-old T Rex fossil discovered in South Dakota; and The Babadook, a low-budget horror flick that has been getting great buzz online. And TW editor Dan Gibson has been talking up The Winding Stream, a documentary about the Carter family's remarkable career in country-western music. Check out the whole list. If you like movies, there's something in there for you. And a big round of applause for the crew at the Loft for giving Tucson this gift every year.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Jim Nintzel

  • Editor's Note

    Fourth and Goals
    • May 17, 2018
  • The Skinny

    The Congressional District 2 democratic showdown
    • May 17, 2018
  • The Skinny

    Class Warfare and Other Notes 13 Takeaways from the 2018 Legislative Session
    • May 10, 2018
  • More »
Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Laff’s and Tears, Plus New Mics (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. The Weekly List: 22 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation