Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Wingspan Board Update on Move to SAAF

Posted By on Tue, Aug 5, 2014 at 12:00 PM

Wingspan's board of directors issued an update this week on the LGBT community center's programs move to the Southern Arizona AIDS Foundation:

The board of directors for the Southern Arizona AIDS Foundation (SAAF) unanimously voted Tuesday evening to move forward with plans to acquire Wingspan, Tucson's Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) community center, and its programs. The SAAF Board has agreed to immediately take on and continue 2 of Wingspan's most vital programs, the Anti-Violence Project and Eon Youth Lounge. These 2 programs and associated staff will move to SAAF this Friday August 1.

SAAF Board President Miguel Cruz stated, "This is an incredible opportunity to enhance SAAF's already strong programs while maintaining Wingspan's vital & critical community outreach. Simply put, the SAAF Board of Directors could not imagine a community without these programs and our vote to continue Wingspan's work is well-aligned with SAAF's mission of creating and sustaining a healthier community."

Over the next several months, staff from SAAF and the Wingspan board of directors will work together to ensure a smooth transition and begin planning for the long term success & revitalization of Wingspan. SAAF Executive Director Wendell Hicks says, "We recognize and respect Wingspan's brand and reputation in the community. Our hope is to maintain and grow that brand. There is no doubt that the LGBT landscape is constantly changing and we at SAAF feel that there is still an important role for an LGBT center to play in the community. We're excited to continue the amazing work Wingspan has been doing over the past 26 years."

The annual Wingspan Dinner, originally scheduled for Saturday September 13, will be moved to spring 2015 and details of the event will be forthcoming.

SAAF's mission is to create and sustain a healthier community through a compassionate, comprehensive response to HIV/AIDS.

Wingspan's mission is to promote the freedom, equality, safety and well-being of LGBT people.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat
DO(OM) Yoga

DO(OM) Yoga @ Floor Polish

Sundays, 8-9 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, March 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. How Did Edbuild Get Arizona's Per-Student Funding Numbers So Wrong? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation