Thursday, May 1, 2014

First Friday Shorts: Golden Gong Awards

Posted By on Thu, May 1, 2014 at 3:33 PM

GoldenGong2014web.jpg

Finally, the Superbowl of short films is here. Red Meat creator Max Cannon will be hosting the ninth annual Golden Gong Awards at 9 p.m. Friday, May 2, at the Loft Cinema, 3233 E Speedway Blvd. A dozen filmmakers will battle for the best FFS film of 2013 and the 2014 race will begin after the awards.

From the Loft:

Get ready for full-throttle film action at the First Friday Shorts “Golden Gong” show, our annual year-end showdown (yes, you heard correctly, our year-end showdown is in May ... deal with it!) featuring all the First Friday Shorts films that have won the coveted $200 cash prize over the past 12 months!

All your favorite filmmakers from Year #9 will be on hand as we pit them against one another in a cinematic smackdown from which only one director shall emerge victorious. First Friday Shorts host Max Cannon calls the shots and doles out the comedy as we see who will survive to claim the glorious “Golden Gong” trophy (perfect for home use!), the amazing cash prize of $1,000 and endless bragging rights! Be there to support your favorite, because your votes will make it all happen.

PLUS: Year #10 of First Friday Shorts begins the same night, immediately following the year-end showdown, so bring us your new films as well, because one lucky filmmaker will escape the dreaded “gong” to become our first winner of the new year, walking away with a sweet $200 cash prize!

PLEASE NOTE: We will only be accepting 7 new entries at this show, so please make sure you get your film in early.

Tickets are only $6 or $5 for members.

Click here for more information.

Tags: , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: Mueller Time (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things To Do in Tucson Today: Monday, March 25 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Arizona Women’s Basketball Heading to WNIT Sweet 16 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation