Monday, April 21, 2014

Local Gay Organization and Harvey Milk Foundation to Host Inaugural Diversity Breakfast

Posted By on Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 2:00 PM

The U.S. Postal Service unveiled its latest stamp featuring the first openly gay elected official in the United States, Harvey Milk. The forever stamp will feature Daniel Nicoletta's photo of Milk in front his camera store in San Francisco, and the colors of the gay pride flag in a vertical strip on the top left corner. The stamp will be available for purchase on (his Birthday) Harvey Milk Day, May 22.

The Harvey Milk Stamp goes on sale on May 22.
  • U.S. Post Office
  • The Harvey Milk Stamp goes on sale on May 22.

In honor of the commemorative stamp and Harvey Milk Day, The Milk Foundation and the Tucson LGBT Freedom Day Parade Committee are hosting Tucson's inaugural Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast from 8 to 11 a.m. Wednesday, May 14, at the Hotel Tucson City Center InnSuites Conference Suite Resort, 475 N. Granada. The key note speaker will be Harvey's nephew and Co-Founder of the Harvey Milk Foundation, Stuart Milk.

Click here to RSVP and here to pre-order the stamp.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
PiYo Strength Class

PiYo Strength Class @ Floor Polish

Thursdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Saving the Sanctuary: Tucson City Council Pushes for Historic Status for Midtown Benedictine Monastery as Development Battle Intensifies (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. The Evolution and Devolution of Diane Douglas (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation