Friday, March 21, 2014

Con-Nichiwa at the Tucson Convention Center This Weekend

Posted By on Fri, Mar 21, 2014 at 3:35 PM

Con-Nichiwa 2014!
  • Photo courtesy of Con-Nichiwa 2014.
  • Con-Nichiwa 2014!

If you're looking for boredom in Tucson, then you shouldn't go to Con-Nichiwa. The rapidly growing anime/manga pop culture event started today and will go on through Sunday, March 23 at the Tucson Convention, 260 S. Church Ave. The special guests include American manga artist and graphic novel illustrator Armand Villavert Jr. Vallavert Jr. is a Phoenix based artist and he's famous for his work at Tokyopop and Boom! Studios. Notable Anime voice actors Ellyn Stern (Robotech), Richard Epcar (Batman, Rototech, Lupin The Third, Naruto) and Bryce Papenbrook (Dynasty Warriors, hack//Sign) and Cherami Leigh (Throwing Stones, Radio Disney) will be at the event.

As always, there's cosplay (costume performance) contests and a full schedule of panels and programing all three days. There will be musical performances by all girl L.A. rock band Nylon Pink and Candy Bomber.

Click here for more information.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

Today | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 22 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: Sept. 21-Sept. 23 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Claytoon of the Day: Bert, Ernie, and Squirmy (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Help Cats by Eating BBQ! (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation