Wednesday, March 12, 2014

SXSW 2014: Pop, Dance and Nerdcore

Posted By on Wed, Mar 12, 2014 at 5:00 PM

MC Lars: Nerdcore Master

I had a better first night than poor Casey Dewey: No travel hassles, easy check in and then it was off to races. Started out at the Fader Fort, where pretty girls carried trays of Blue Hawaiians for the guests and Charlie XCX kicked off the show with her up-and-coming pop-rock, including a fun cover of "I Want Candy." She was followed by the dazzling Chromeo, who combined dance rock with a hypnotic light show. From there, I entered the mouth of madness along Sixth Street and caught a nerdcore show by MC Lars with shout-outs to the likes of Bruce Campbell and Edgar Allen Poe. Had a few confusing hits and misses with a shows afterwards until I finished the evening with some ol' fashioned guitar and drums with Grape St.

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Jim Nintzel

  • Editor’s Note: Rays of Sunshine

    It's Sunshine Week, which doesn't just mean another week of gorgeous weather here in Southern Arizona. It's also the week when the press points out the importance of having access to public records.
    • Mar 14, 2019
  • Editor's Note: Scam Alert

    This week, staff reporter Kathleen Kunz exposes some of the scams happening in our community.
    • Mar 7, 2019
  • The Skinny

    Awkward Positions
    • Mar 7, 2019
  • More »
Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
MS Project 2013 Best Practices 102 Course

MS Project 2013 Best Practices 102 Course @ Key Consulting Project Management Education Center

Fri., March 22, 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Fri., May 17, 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Fri., July 19, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. and Fri., Sept. 20, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Arizona Spends $7,613 More Per Student In White Districts Than In Nonwhite Districts? Really? (Answer: No, Not Really) (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Wednesday, March 20 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Trump Beto Veto (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Pima County Hires New Jail Population Coordinator (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation