Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Jesse Colter Sings to the Animals

Posted By on Tue, Mar 11, 2014 at 6:30 PM

Jessi Colter at the Warden Oasis Museum, Saturday, March 8
  • C. Elliott
  • Jessi Colter at the Warden Oasis Museum, Saturday, March 8

Jessi Colter sang under a clear sky on a balmy spring evening as if it were the most natural thing in the world, notwithstanding the turbo-frost that slammed more northerly and easterly regions of the country. Of course she might have done that at Reid Park or a half-dozen other venues in town, but instead she performed at what is perhaps Tucson's second greatest tourist attraction next to the weather: The Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum.

Predictably, the show's highlight was her own 1974 hit "I'm Not Lisa," although Colter has co-written and recorded many more tunes with country greats, including her husband Waylon Jennings. As her sweet, warbling country-drenched music filled the outdoor Warden Oasis Theater, families all over the grounds enjoyed an evening of "Desert Night Life," with special astronomy programs, story time, activities for the kids and education programs about the nocturnal lives of animals.

Jessi Colter at the Warden Oasis Museum, Saturday, March 8
  • C. Elliott
  • Jessi Colter at the Warden Oasis Museum, Saturday, March 8

Jessi Colter at the Warden Oasis Museum, Saturday, March 8
  • C. Elliott
  • Jessi Colter at the Warden Oasis Museum, Saturday, March 8

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Linda Ray

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Arizona History Tour

Arizona History Tour @ UA Visitor Center

Wed., March 20, 10-11:30 a.m. and Wed., April 17, 10-11:30 a.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Arizona Spends $7,613 More Per Student In White Districts Than In Nonwhite Districts? Really? (Answer: No, Not Really) (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Wednesday, March 20 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. 25 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 8 to 10 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Trump Beto Veto (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Pima County Hires New Jail Population Coordinator (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation