Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Grijalva, Kirkpatrick and Barber Urge Gov. Brewer to Veto SB 1062

Posted By on Tue, Feb 25, 2014 at 10:31 AM

Arizona lawmakers are coming out of the woodwork to voice their opposition on SB 1062. Who can blame them after Al Melvin's deplorable performance on Anderson Cooper's talk show on Monday night. Arizona Representatives Ann Kirkpatrick, Ron Barber and Raul Grijalva spoke out against the anti-gay legislation and urged Governor Jan Brewer to veto the bill.

From HuffPo:

"The far right of the conservative movement has been using our state as a petri dish for their anti-immigrant, anti-worker, anti-environment, anti-women, anti-education, anti-gun safety agenda for years now, and it needs to stop," Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-Ariz.) told The Huffington Post. "Arizonans did not ask for this bill or any other form of state-sanctioned discrimination."

"The Legislature ought to be creating jobs, not driving them away," Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (D-Ariz.) told the Daily Sun. "This bill will hurt Arizonans, and I hope the governor will veto it."

Rep. Ron Barber (D-Ariz.) called SB 1062 "a deeply offensive piece of legislation that would give legal protection to business owners who discriminate against certain groups of individuals" in a statement.

Governor Brewer is flying to Phoenix today after attending National Governors Association meetings. The deadline for Brewer to sign or veto this law is Saturday. Close friends and people "familiar with her thinking" told MSN that she's leaning towards vetoing the bill.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments (6)

Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-6 of 6

Add a comment

Today | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. 19 Great Things to Do in Tucson This Weekend: March 22 to 24 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. "Electrical Hypersensitivity" to be Discussed at Films Screenings around Tucson (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday, March 21 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: What Will Millennials Do? (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Share Your "Tales From Tumamoc" at the Cuéntame Más Camper (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation