Friday, February 14, 2014

Arcade Showdown at Maker House

Posted By on Fri, Feb 14, 2014 at 10:30 AM

20 contestants. 10 arcade cabinets. 5 minute rounds. 1 winner to rule them all!
  • Photo courtesy of Generation Cool and Maker House
  • 20 contestants. 10 arcade cabinets. 5 minute rounds. 1 winner to rule them all!

Maker House and Generation Cool are teaming up to bring an exciting Arcade Showdown from 5 p.m. to midnight on Thursday, Feb. 27, at the Maker House mansion, 283 N. Stone Ave. 20 contestants will battle it out on 10 separate gaming cabinets. The winner will take home an arcade machine, and runner-ups will get gift certificates and schwag. This event feels like the the sequel to a campy post-'80s indie film starring Fred Savage.

Maker House will teach you how to be the poor man's Neo and show you how to hack your Wii console at 5 p.m. There will also be a Gamer Swap Meet:

Swap video games, card games, board games, miniatures, comic books, or anything else game related! Swappers can get a 6×6 foot table space for $5, table not included. Space is limited and is first come, first served.

Click here to sign up for vendor space.

You can get your picture taken at the Neo Geo photo booth so you can remember this moment forever. There will be power up drink specials (who can forget Bawls?) and food trucks will onsite.

This event encourages creative folks to come cosplay as their favorite video game characters.

Click here to RSVP on the Facebook event page and here to sign up for the tournament.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
PiYo Strength Class

PiYo Strength Class @ Floor Polish

Thursdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Arlo Needs a Home (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. I Know I Said I Wouldn't Give Teachers Advice, But . . . (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Cinema Clips: Cargo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. The Weekly List: 23 Things To Do In Tucson This Week (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. UA's 'Freedom School' Isn't Free Of Costs Or Hiring Restrictions (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation