Thursday, December 12, 2013

The Doors' John Densmore In-store Book Signing at Zia This Saturday

Posted By on Thu, Dec 12, 2013 at 2:00 PM

click to enlarge bbs86uhcmaa8dqt.jpg

The legendary Doors drummer John Densmore is coming to town for a book signing at 2 p.m. this Saturday at Zia Records, 3370 East Speedway.

Phoenix New Times music writer Serene Dominic interviewed Densmore about his new book The Doors: Unhinged and shared some of Jim Morrison's insecurities regarding his musical talents and involvement with the band.
"Jim felt insecure about writing songs. He knew nothing about playing a chord on any instrument. He had words and he had melodies. So he said, 'Why don't we write everything together, split all the money, and give all the credit to The Doors instead of me as the lyricist. And why don't we have veto power in case anybody gets weird.' And I turned into Mr. Veto."

"I really lucked out. I stumbled into this network of record stores like Zia. And there's a few thousand of them, and they're getting a little boost because vinyl is coming back and they have diversified into posters, books, boxed sets, and there's a sense of community in these stores, which is kind of cool."


(via Phoenix New Times)

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Today | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri
Saturday Tour & Tasting

Saturday Tour & Tasting @ Hamilton Distillery

Saturdays, 3-5 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Claytoon of the Day: The More Things Change (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Tucson's Newest Sports Team (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Zona Politics: Congressman Raul Grijalva and Congressional District 2 Candidate Mary Matiella (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation