Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Chris Christie Wins in Jersey, So Prepare Yourself for His Presidential Run

Posted By on Tue, Nov 5, 2013 at 7:15 PM

No big shock, but Governor Chris Christie will win reelection by a landslide in New Jersey tonight, which means that the narrative of "this is the Republican that can win over Democrats in 2016" starts about nowish:

His final margin this year remains to be seen, but news organizations immediately called the race for him the moment polls closed at 8 p.m. EST.

From the start, the outspoken governor focused his campaign on expanding the electorate, and the payoff is clear. The governor made significant inroads with minorities, a must for Republicans nationally, winning the support of 19 percent of African-Americans and 31 percent of Hispanics, according to exit polls....

Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal, who chairs the Republican Governors Association, called Christie’s victory proof that “Republicans can compete and win in every state”

“Governor Chris Christie’s overwhelming victory proves that voters are looking for confident and competent leadership,” Jindal said in a statement. “His tenure as chief executive has placed a premium on achieving results over scoring political points.”

Echoing Jindal, Republican National Committee chairman Reince Priebus said in a statement that Christie “proved that Republican principles get results—even in a state the pundits like to call a ‘blue state.’”

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Summer Safari Nights

Summer Safari Friday Nights 2018 Date: Every Friday until August 3, 2018 6:00 pm — 8:00 pm… More

@ Reid Park Zoo Fri., May 18, 6-8 p.m., Fri., May 25, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 1, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 8, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 15, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 22, 6-8 p.m., Fri., June 29, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 6, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 13, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 20, 6-8 p.m., Fri., July 27, 6-8 p.m. and Fri., Aug. 3, 6-8 p.m. 3400 E Zoo Court

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. T.H.R.E.A.T. Watch: Border Edition (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Claytoon of the Day: Yappy Jesus (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. One Great Thing to Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, June 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Fjord Needs a Family (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Exo Roast Co. Ditches Plastic for Paper (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation