Friday, October 25, 2013

Prescription Drug Drop-Off Collection Set For Saturday

Posted on Fri, Oct 25, 2013 at 3:00 PM

By Aaron Granillo
Cronkite News Service
Originally published: Oct 25, 2013 - 8:46 am

PHOENIX — Arizona residents are encouraged to drop off their expired, unused, or unwanted prescription drugs at sites across the state on Saturday.

It's a part of national campaign sponsored by the DEA to curb prescription drug abuse. Many health officials call the issue an epidemic.

"In fact, more people in Arizona die from opiate overdoses than car accidents," said Will Humble, director of the Arizona Department of Health.

The 2011 National Survey on Drug Abuse and Health showed more Americans abuse prescription drugs than the number of those using cocaine, hallucinogens, and heroin combined.

Police and fire departments are among the dozens of entities participating in the statewide event. Click here to find local collection sites.

National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day runs Saturday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Tags: , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Three and Out: Arizona Opens Pac-12 Play Against Oregon State (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Laughing Stock: Laughing All Over (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today: Thursday Sept. 20 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Three Great Things to Do in Tucson Today, Wednesday, Sept. 19 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation