Tuesday, October 15, 2013

The Husband and Wife Known as Nowhere Man and a Whiskey Girl Have Died

Posted By on Tue, Oct 15, 2013 at 11:53 AM

Tragic and troubling news from Bisbee over the last two days, as Amy and Derrick Ross, known to local music fans as Nowhere Man and a Whiskey Girl, have both died.

Monday, Amy Ross, who had significant health issues, including suffering from lupus and needing kidney dialysis, died in a Tucson hospital, prior to heart surgery related to an infection. Strangely, the news was delivered via a post on her Facebook page:

From Amy Ross Facebook page
  • https://www.facebook.com/amy.l.ross.90/posts/10201570348653124
  • From Amy Ross' Facebook page

This morning, in news we've unfortunately confirmed with Bisbee police, Amy's page announced that Derrick committed suicide:

From Amy Ross Facebook page
  • From Amy Ross' Facebook page

The two were incredibly talented and dedicated musicians and both will be missed.

It's a rough listen, especially considering how things turned out, but Derrick was a guest on Doug Stanhope's podcast last week, discussing Amy's illness.

More information as we get it.

UPDATE:



UPDATE: Mel Mason is organizing an event to celebrate the couple and their music at 7 pm tonight at Delectables. More information can be found on Facebook.

UPDATE: According to a post retweeted by Doug Stanhope, a friend of the couple, there's a gathering tonight at the Bisbee Grand at 6 PM.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments (34)

Showing 1-34 of 34

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-34 of 34

Add a comment

More by Dan Gibson

Today | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue
Burlesque Fitness

Burlesque Fitness @ Floor Polish

Mondays, Wednesdays, 4:30-5:30 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Native Gardens

A hilarious new comedy that’s anything but neighborly!… More

@ Temple of Music and Art Sat., Sept. 8, 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 11, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 12, 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 13, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 14, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 15, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 16, 2-3:30 & 7-8:30 p.m., Tue., Sept. 18, 7:30-9 p.m., Wed., Sept. 19, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 20, 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 21, 7:30-9 p.m., Sat., Sept. 22, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Sun., Sept. 23, 2-3:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Thu., Sept. 27, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m., Fri., Sept. 28, 7:30-9 p.m. and Sat., Sept. 29, 2-3:30 & 7:30-9 p.m. 330 S. Scott Ave.

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Freedom Center-Affiliated Authors Refuse to Put Their Phil. 101 Textbook Online For TUSD Review (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Humane Society of Southern Arizona Aims to Adopt Out 25 Pets on Friday (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Zona Politics: Congressman Raul Grijalva and Congressional District 2 Candidate Mary Matiella (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Claytoon of the Day: Google Gestapo (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. David Garcia Declared Winner in the Arizona Democratic Governor's Race (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2018 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation