Wednesday, September 18, 2013

No Ferrets for You!

Posted By on Wed, Sep 18, 2013 at 12:00 PM

Arizona lawmakers. Just stop. Stop holding your breath waiting for Arizona lawmakers to adequately fund education or make job development a priority. Laugh. Maybe that's it. Maybe they realize that what's better than a job or education is a good belly laugh and having the rest of the country laugh at, er, with us because they continue to do things like this:

A law officially forbidding ferrets from being brought into the Arizona restaurants has taken effect.

Friday, the 90th day since this year's legislative session was adjourned, marked the day 256 new laws took effect in the state, including the ferret ban, which stems from efforts to narrow the number of species considered "service animals," Capital Media Services reported Monday.

Laws previously allowed several types of animals to be claimed as "service animals" and brought into restaurants and other facilities by people with disabilities, but the new law restricts the designation to dogs and miniature horses.

Miniature horses were left on the list due to their ability to be trained, greater physical strength than dogs and their longevity.

This doesn't bode well for ferret and miniature horse relations. You'd think the least elected officials could do is bring us together.

[Odd News: UPI.com]

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Comments (5)

Showing 1-5 of 5

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-5 of 5

Add a comment

Previously in the Range

More by Mari Herreras

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Meditation and Buddhist study

Meditation and Buddhist study @ Sky Island Zen

Tuesdays, Saturdays

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Staff Pick

Menopause the Musical!

The cast of four fabulous women shop for laundry at a Bloomingdale’s sale, sing 25 songs about… More

@ The Gaslight Music Hall Tue., March 19, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 20, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 22, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., March 25, 6-8 p.m., Tue., March 26, 6-8 p.m., Wed., March 27, 6-8 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-8 p.m., Fri., March 29, 6-8 p.m., Sun., March 31, 2-4 & 6-8 p.m., Mon., April 1, 6-8 p.m., Tue., April 2, 6-8 p.m., Wed., April 3, 6-8 p.m. and Thu., April 4, 6-8 p.m. 13005 N Oracle Rd

» More Picks

Submit an Event Listing

Popular Content

  1. Gov. Ducey Issues Statement on Passing of Don Diamond (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  2. Three Great Things To Do in Tucson Today: Tuesday, March 26 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  3. Arizona Women’s Basketball Heading to WNIT Sweet 16 (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  4. Value Tucson Teachers Through Student Video Projects (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)
  5. Claytoon of the Day: Mueller Time (The Range: The Tucson Weekly's Daily Dispatch)

© 2019 Tucson Weekly | 7225 Mona Lisa Rd. Ste. 125, Tucson AZ 85741 | (520) 797-4384 | Powered by Foundation